Slow Foods

July 12, 2007

Don’t you love it when you have this great idea, and then you find out that it is already an international organization with 80,000 members? Well, that happened to me yesterday. I discovered Slow Food USA, the US version of an international foundation for the preservation of local food traditions. It basically exists for everything that fast food does not. Which is cool.

Now, I am not saying that all fast food is evil. Its just that it poisons your body with preservatives, robs you of nutrition, encourages you to not learn to cook, promotes a super-fast-paced lifestyle, and aggressively targets your children to make them even less healthy than you are.

Enter SLOW food. Take the time to enjoy life. Cook creatively. Use locally grown produce (or, if you are really old-fashioned, grow the vegetables yourself). Eat nutrient rich, seasonal food. Talk to people while you eat. I like this stuff.

I think that it is neat that the guy who founded the organization is Italian. I love Italy. Dinner can take 4 hours, and the food is so good that you don’t mind it taking 4 hours because you get to keep eating. I think that every culture has its own unique aspects to it, some strengths and some weaknesses. Italy’s slow paced life can be seen as both, depending on the point-of-view. I am of the view that, at least relating to cooking and food, it is the best way to live. Now if I could only tell my work to give me a nice 2 1/2 hour lunch break so that I can live out my convictions…

Leave a Reply

